Seminars for barangay

I am having trouble with my net signal in the house again. It is so weak I cannot access anything. Grrrr!

I am now in my office and I have just finished my presentation on the Barangay Business Enterprise Development Program in my seminar at the City Council. Catalino Bolo of the City Treasurer’s Office is now discussing the Barangay MIcro Business Enterprise Law.

About 60 barangay officials are in attendance in this seminar hosted by my office.

This morning, we had Liga ng Barangay Vice President Leonardo Miguel Aquino as our opening guest followed by Davao City Chamber of Commerce & Industry VP Nelia Tumarao as keynote speaker. Nelia urged for stronger partnership between the business community and our barangays.

Before lunch, we had Ivy Uy of the Department of Trade and Industry introduced the One Town One Product (OTOP) program.

Tomorrow, we will tackle the Botika ng Barangay, which my office also undertakes in partnership with the Department of Health; and e-governance for the barangays to help promote barangay business enterprises.

A popular request among the barangay officials is another seminar on accessing funds from different sources like GFIs, micro-lending groups, government agencies and NGOs.

We hope to hold this one in January next year.

In the meantime, my office will also host a seminar on the Botika ng Barangay on October 16.

1:50 p.m.

Leave a Reply

