Dabaw Kaisa

Congratulations to the new officers of the Dabaw Kaisa Foundation, the local Tsinoy (Filipino-Chinese) association in the city, namely:

William O. Go – Chairman of the Board

Arch. Daniel T. Lim – President

Sergio Y. Haw – Internal Vice President

Edgar L. Te – External Vice President

Irene D. Lavares – Secretary

James Edwin O. Go – Treasurer


Tian Beng C. Ang

Sebastian L. Angliongto

Charito Azarias

Dr. Romeo R. Du

James Y. Gaisano, Jr.

Gerald Arnold King

James A. Lao

Vicente T.  Lao

Lafayette A. Lim

New PUM country head

The Dutch Senior Expert Program – PUM – has a new country representative for the Philippines, Jan de Lijster.

Jan, 67, is currently touring PUM projects areas like Davao, Cebu, Cagayan de Oro and Bacolod. A graduate of the Rotterdam University, Jan has an extensive business experience working in the Netherlands, Indonesia, and Russia, among others.

In Davao yesterday, he met with officials of the Dabaw Kaisa Foundation, the Filipino-Chinese Association with president Sergio Haw, chair Sebastian Angliongto, legal counsel Irene Lavares, city councilor Peter Lavina and Internal Vice President Arch. Daniel Lim (who took the picture below). With Jan was Cherry Tan Padua, PUM coordinator for southern Philippines.

PUM and Dabaw Kaisa plans to tie up to help promote the use of Dutch volunteer experts in local business enterprises.


The meeting took place at the DTI Conference Room.

Cabinet men seeking Congress posts

Our New Year’s Day post is in the news today.

I would be back to my usual round of meetings starting today. At 2  pm at the Davao City Sports Council, Inc. to take up among others the 1st Vic Sai Sports Journalism Awards, and at 6 pm at the Dabaw Kaisa Foundation which is spearheading the Chinese New Year celebration in the city.

During the holiday break, I learned that a number of cabinet secretaries are planning to run for congressional seats in 2010. Is this a definite sign the Palace occupant is finally giving up hope for any extension?


Among those reportedly seeking Congress posts are Press Secretary Jess Dureza and Cabinet Secretary Bebot Bello III in the 1st District and 3rd District of Davao City, respectively; Aggie Secretary Arthur Yap in Bohol, and PMS Head Cerge Remonde in the South Cebu District.